Leverage raises exposure well beyond the amount deposited.
Our review standards are the fixed checklist we apply to every claim we publish about FXCM, and the first rule is simple: nothing goes on the page unless it traces back to a named source. That means a licence number, a regulator, a corporate entity or an account condition, not an impression. The second rule is that we mark what we could not confirm. You will see "not stated" in our tables, and that is deliberate. A gap is information too.
For Australian readers this matters more than it sounds. FXCM operates here through a local entity, which changes what you can verify and what you cannot.
Who Regulates FXCM Australia
FXCM's Australian business is served by Stratos Trading Pty. Limited, listed in Melbourne on FXCM's own international office page. That entity is stated to be regulated by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission under Australian Financial Services License number 309763.
- Suits
- Live, demo, corporate, trust
- Swap-free
- Not stated
- Does not suit
- FXCM is not a gap case versus a fully regulated top-tier broker: reputable review sources describe it as regulated by FCA, ASIC
- Currency note
- Not stated
An AFSL is a searchable licence with a defined scope, and it is the single most useful thing you can check before you fund anything. The Melbourne office also runs local support during 24/5 hours, per FXCM's Australia-facing pages.
What We Verify Line By Line
Every figure we publish falls into one of three buckets: confirmed, reported but unconfirmed, or not stated.
| Item | What we found | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Regulator | ASIC AFSL 309763 | Confirmed |
| Local entity | Stratos Trading Pty. Limited, Melbourne | Confirmed |
| Account opening fee | No fees to open an individual account | Confirmed |
| Minimum deposit | $50 reported by a secondary source | Unconfirmed |
| Base currencies | Not listed in Australia sources | Not stated |
| Local payment rails | Not specified in Australia sources | Not stated |
The minimum deposit is the clearest example of why the buckets matter. FXCM's own Australia pages state there are no fees to open an individual account, while one secondary review reports a $50 minimum that FXCM's own pages do not confirm. We publish both and label the second one.
On leverage, our Australia-facing sources state no country-specific maximum. ASIC's retail CFD caps apply across the market: 30:1 on major forex pairs, 20:1 on minors, gold and major indices, 10:1 on other commodities and minor indices, 5:1 on shares, and 2:1 on crypto-assets. Those caps come from the regulator, not from FXCM's marketing.
Getting Money In And Out
FXCM's Australian sources do not specify local payment rails. No POLi, no PayID, no local bank transfer list appears in the material we reviewed. That is a real gap for anyone used to instant domestic transfers.
Withdrawals are the part worth reading twice. According to FXCM's Australia help page, withdrawal requests should be emailed from the registered address to [email protected], and that email needs three things:
- The withdrawal method you want
- Your account number
- The amount requested
The request must come from the address registered on the account. Send it from anywhere else and it will not be actioned. That is standard anti-money-laundering practice, and it is also the most common reason a first withdrawal stalls.
By email, the clock does not start when you hit send. It starts when the request is processed. Budget for a slower loop than a platform with an in-built withdrawal button, and keep the confirmation email.
Account Conditions At A Glance
FXCM's Australia-facing pages mention live accounts, practice accounts and separate coverage for corporate and superannuation trust clients. Pricing is spread-based and commission-free, with majors from around 0.8 pip and USD/CHF averages reported in the 0.3 to 0.6 range.
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Account types | Live, demo, corporate, trust |
| Pricing model | Commission-free, spread-based |
| Typical majors spread | From ~0.8 pip |
| Platforms | Trading Station, MT4, Mirror Trader |
| Instruments | FX, CFDs, crypto CFDs, commodities, indices |
| Minimum deposit | $50 reported, not confirmed |
Platform coverage is Trading Station II, MetaTrader 4 and Mirror Trader. The Australia LinkedIn page also references TradingView integrations, APIs and Capitalise.ai. MetaTrader 5 does not appear in the material we reviewed, so if MT5 is a hard requirement, that is a genuine limitation rather than a preference.
A swap-free option is available according to FXCM's help pages, and there is no standard bonus attached to an Australian account.
What ASIC's Rules Change For You
Retail CFD trading is permitted in Australia but tightly regulated, and the intervention order applies to retail clients of licensed issuers. It requires leverage caps, margin close-out protection, negative balance protection, and a ban on certain inducements including trading credits, rebates and free gifts.
| + | Forex / CFDs | available |
| – | Local stocks | not available |
| – | US stocks | not available |
| + | Crypto | available |
| + | Commodities | available |
Negative balance protection means you cannot end up owing money beyond your account balance after a gap move. Margin close-out fires automatically at a set threshold rather than at a dealer's discretion. Standardised risk warnings are mandatory, which is why you will see them everywhere.
None of this eliminates the possibility of rapid account depletion. CFDs are high-risk products, and rules that reduce losses are not rules that prevent them. If you are comparing two international brokers, negative balance protection should be a filter, not a bonus.
Risks Worth Reading Twice
The operational risks here are mundane rather than dramatic, and they are the ones that actually affect your money.
- Withdrawal friction. Email-based requests add a processing step that platform-integrated withdrawals do not have.
- Unconfirmed deposit methods. With no local rails listed, you may be relying on card or international transfer with the fees and timing that implies.
- Pricing opacity on costs. Commission-free does not mean cost-free; the spread is the cost, and it varies by instrument and session.
- Entity routing. Your account is with Stratos Trading Pty. Limited under AFSL 309763. Confirm which entity you are onboarded to before you deposit.
On the consumer side, FXCM Australia directs complaints to its local process and references the Australian Financial Complaints Authority. An external dispute resolution path is a meaningful safeguard, because it gives you somewhere to go that is not the broker's own inbox.
How To Read Any Broker Review
The standard we apply to FXCM is the standard you should apply to whoever you choose, including us. A licence you can search beats a logo wall every time.
| Platform | Runs on | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| MT4 | - | Forex and CFDs, expert advisors |
| MetaTrader 4 | - | Forex and CFDs, expert advisors |
| TradingView | - | Charting and community |
Check the entity name against the regulator's public register, not the brand name on the homepage. Confirm whether client money is segregated and where. Look for a long operating track record rather than a recent launch. And test support before you deposit, not after, because a live chat that answers a pre-sale question in minutes tends to answer a withdrawal question the same way.
A broker with strong regulation, segregated funds, transparent pricing and an external complaints path is a better choice than one with a bigger bonus and a thinner paper trail. That is the whole test.
Questions
Does FXCM have an Australian licence?
Yes. FXCM's Australian entity, Stratos Trading Pty. Limited, is stated to be regulated by ASIC under Australian Financial Services License number 309763, with a listed office in Melbourne.
How does FXCM handle withdrawals in Australia?
Per FXCM's Australia help page, withdrawal requests are sent by email from your registered address to [email protected], and must include the withdrawal method, your account number and the amount.
Is FXCM's Australian page transparent about fees?
Partly. It states there are no fees to open an individual account and uses commission-free spread pricing from around 0.8 pip on majors. Base currencies and local payment methods are not specified in the Australia-facing sources we reviewed.

